Director: Prof Dr (Hans) HJM van Deventer

Senior Administrative Assistant:  Ms (Tienie) HP Buys

  • 15 Fulltime academic staff members
  • 8 Academics from various academic institutions, national and international, are affiliated with our research unit as extraordinary researchers.
  • 7 NRF-rated researchers
  • 6 Postdoctoral fellows
  • Post-65 Researcher – Prof HF (Herrie) van Rooy ( B3 - NRF-rated researcher)

  Dr Aldred Genade

  +27 18 299 1605
  aldred.genade@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office G07b, Potchefstroom Campus
  Phd
  Senior Lecturer
  Rhetorical Criticism (NT), Contextual Hermeneutics, Book of Titus
LinkedIn Orcid

  Dr Philip du Toit

  +27 18 389 2824
  philip.dutoit@nwu.ac.za
  Building A2, Office G11, Mahikeng Campus
  Rating: NRF-C3
  Senior Lecturer
  New Perspectives on Paul; Paul in Judaism; Identity; Christian Zionism; Messianic Judaism.
Research Gater LinkedIn Google Scholar Orcid Academia

  Dr Johan Steenkamp

  +27 18 285 2374
  johan.steenkamp@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 113, Potchefstroom Campus
  PhD
  Senior Lecturer
  Latin Literature, Classical Reception, Roman and Hellenistic Historiography
Research Gater Orcid
Hans van Deventer

  Prof Hans van Deventer

  +27 16 910 3464
  hans.vandeventer@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G07, Vanderbijlpark Campus
  Rating: NRF-C2
  Research Director: Ancient Languages
  Book of Daniel (Hebrew Bible), Hermeneutics
LinkedIn Orcid Academia

  Dr At Lamprecht

  +27 18 285 2352
  at.lamprecht@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 109, Potchefstroom Campus
  PhD
  Senior Lecturer
  Biblical Hebrew semantics, Biblical Aramaic, Spatial Cognition (Death metaphor in the Hebrew Bible), Cognitive Concepts in the Book of Job
LinkedIn Orcid

  Prof Gideon Kotze

  +27 18 299 1839
  kotze.gideon@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 116, Potchefstroom Campus
  NRF-Y2
  Research Professor
  Textual criticism, Dead Sea scrolls, Septuagint Studies, Ancient Near Eastern languages and cultures
Orcid Academia

  Dr Lekgetho Moretsi

  +27 18 299 1843
  lekgetho.moretsi@nwu.ac.za
  Building K11, Office G09, Potchefstroom Campus
  Lecturer
  Semitic Languages (Hebrew, Syriac), Translation Technique, Psalms (Book 3), Early Prophets
LinkedIn Orcid

  Prof Pierre Jordaan

  +27 18 299 1602
  pierre.jordaan@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 107, Potchefstroom Campus
  Rating: NRF-C2
  Professor: Greek
  Septuagint and Cognate Studies
LinkedIn Orcid

  Prof Risimati Hobyane

  +27 18 299 1531
  risimati.hobyane@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 114, Potchefstroom Campus
  Rating: NRF-Y2
  Director: School for Ancient Language and Text Studies; Associate Professor
  New Testament (Johannine Studies) and Septuagint Studies
LinkedIn Orcid

  Dr Hennie Goede

  +27 18 285 2496
  hennie.goede@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office G09, Potchefstroom Campus
  PhD
  Executive Dean: Faculty of Theology
  Greek, New Testament Studies, Hermeneutics
LinkedIn Orcid

  Dr Elma Cornelius

  +27 16 910 3594
  Elma.Cornelius@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G05, Vanderbijlpark Campus
  DPhil in Religious Studies
  Senior Lecturer; Programme leader: BA Pastoral Psychology
  Rhetorical Criticism (NT), Spiritual Intelligence, Ancient Texts as Loci of Power Abuse
Orcid

  Mrs Tienie Buys

  +27 18 299 1845
  Tienie.Buys@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office G11, Potchefstroom Campus
  Higher Degrees Assistant

  Dr Lerato Mokoena

  +27 18 389 2430
  lerato.mokoena@nwu.ac.za
  Theology Building A2, Office G10, Mahikeng Campus
  PhD in Old Testament
  Senior Lecturer
  Deuteronomistic History, Feminist Biblical Interpretation, Philosophy and Religion, Wisdom Literature (Ecclesiastes)
LinkedIn Google Scholar

  Dr Godwin Mushayabasa

  +27 18 299 1609
  Godwin.Mushayabasa@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 106, Potchefstroom Campus
  PhD in Semitic Languages
  Lecturer
  Biblical Hebrew Linguistics, Peshitta (Ezekiel, Old Syriac Gospels), Cognitive Linguistics and Frame Semantics, Textual Criticism
Research Gater LinkedIn Orcid Academia

  Prof Nicholas Allen

  +27 18 299 1967
  Nicholas.Allen@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 208, Potchefstroom Campus
  Research Professor
  Sindonology, History of Judaism, Art History, Deuterocanonical Literature, Josephus
LinkedIn Orcid

  Prof Jaco Gericke

  +27 16 910 3399
  jaco.gericke@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G01, Vanderbijlpark Campus
  Rating: NRF-C2
  Associate Professor
  Philosophy of religion/philosophical theology in the history of HB/OT interpretation, New developments in philosophical-theological/religious approaches to the HB/OT, Reception of the HB/OT in the history of philosophical theology/philosophy of religion
Orcid Academia