Director: Prof Dr (Hans) HJM van Deventer

Senior Administrative Assistant:  Ms (Tienie) HP Buys

  • 15 Fulltime academic staff members
  • 8 Academics from various academic institutions, national and international, are affiliated with our research unit as extraordinary researchers.
  • 7 NRF-rated researchers
  • 6 Postdoctoral fellows
  • Post-65 Researcher – Prof HF (Herrie) van Rooy ( B3 - NRF-rated researcher)

  Dr At Lamprecht

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 285 2352
  at.lamprecht@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 109, Potchefstroom
  PhD
  Biblical Hebrew semantics, Biblical Aramaic, Spatial Cognition (Death metaphor in the Hebrew Bible), Cognitive Concepts in the Book of Job

  Dr Elma Cornelius

  Senior Lecturer; Programme Leader: BA Pastoral Psychology
  +27 16 910 3594
  Elma.Cornelius@nwu.ac.za
  Building11B, Office G05,, Vanderbijlpark
  DPhil in Religious Studies
  Rhetorical Criticism (NT), Spiritual Intelligence, Ancient Texts as Loci of Power Abuse

  Prof Gideon Kotze

  Research Professor
  +27 18 299 1839
  kotze.gideon@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 116, Potchefstroom
  Rating: NRF-Y2
  Textual criticism, Dead Sea scrolls, Septuagint Studies, Ancient Near Eastern languages and cultures

  Dr Godwin Mushayabasa

  Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1609
  Godwin.Mushayabasa@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 207, Potchefstroom
  PhD in Semitic Languages
  Biblical Hebrew Linguistics, Peshitta (Ezekiel, Old Syriac Gospels), Cognitive Linguistics and Frame Semantics, Textual Criticism

  Prof Hans van Deventer

  Research Director: Ancient Languages
  +27 16 910 3464
  hans.vandeventer@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G07, Vanderbijlpark
  Rating: NRF-C2
  Book of Daniel (Hebrew Bible), Hermeneutics

  Dr Hennie Goede

  Executive Dean: Faculty of Theology
  +27 18 285 2496
  hennie.goede@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office G17(b), Potchefstroom
  PhD
  Greek, New Testament Studies, Hermeneutics

  Prof Jaco Gericke

  Associate Professor
  +27 16 910 3399
  jaco.gericke@nwu.ac.za
  Building 11B, Office G01, Vanderbijlpark
  Rating: NRF-C2
  Philosophy of religion/philosophical theology in the history of HB/OT interpretation, New developments in philosophical-theological/religious approaches to the HB/OT, Reception of the HB/OT in the history of philosophical theology/philosophy of religion

  Dr Johan Steenkamp

  Senior Lecturer
  +27 18 285 2374
  johan.steenkamp@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 113, Potchefstroom
  PhD
  Latin Literature, Classical Reception, Roman and Hellenistic Historiography

  Dr Lekgetho Moretsi

  Lecturer
  +27 18 299 1843
  lekgetho.moretsi@nwu.ac.za
  Building K11, Office G09, Potchefstroom
  Semitic Languages (Hebrew, Syriac), Translation Technique, Psalms (Book 3), Early Prophets

  Prof Nicholas Allen

  Research Professor
  +27 18 299 1967
  Nicholas.Allen@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 208, Potchefstroom
  Sindonology, History of Judaism, Art History, Deuterocanonical Literature, Josephus

  Dr Philip du Toit

  Senior Lecturer_Subprogramme leader: African Spiritualities and Leadership
  +27 18 389 2824
  philip.dutoit@nwu.ac.za
  Building A2a, Office G03A, Mahikeng
  C3 - NRF-rated researcher
  New Perspectives on Paul; Paul in Judaism; Identity; Christian Zionism; Messianic Judaism.

  Prof Pierre Jordaan

  Professor: Greek
  +27 18 299 1602
  pierre.jordaan@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office 107, Potchefstroom
  Rating: NRF-C2
  Septuagint and Cognate Studies

  Prof Risimati Hobyane

  Director: School for Ancient Language and Text Studies; Associate Professor
  +27 18 299 1531
  risimati.hobyane@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office G15, Potchefstroom
  Rating: NRF-Y2
  New Testament (Johannine Studies) and Septuagint Studies

  Mrs Tienie Buys

  Higher Degrees Assistant
  +27 18 299 1845
  Tienie.Buys@nwu.ac.za
  Building K23, Office G11, Potchefstroom